多渠道零售商如何在送货上与亚马逊竞争

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
每周获取最新的亚马逊内容
多渠道零售商

作者:Parcelhub的特约编辑Paul Skeldon

对于包括我在内的许多购物者而言,亚马逊拥有一切。 它易于使用,我可以找到我想要的几乎所有东西,如果我想要的东西在Prime上,第二天就可以交付使用,而且退货很容易。 我为什么还要去其他地方?

但是,将其翻转过来,这意味着对于所有其他试图让我从他们那里购买商品的零售商而言,他们的艰巨任务是试图模仿亚马逊所做的事情。 或者,换句话说,当涉及到从搜索到交付的体验时,可以超越Amazon Amazon。

这是一个艰巨的任务,但是在从次日送货到客户服务(更不用说价格)的所有方面与亚马逊竞争,是任何其他零售商在电子商务时代生存的唯一途径。

那么,零售商甚至那些通过亚马逊销售的零售商如何与完整的亚马逊套餐竞争?

好吧,秘诀在于弄清亚马逊的出色表现,然后尝试做得更好,或者自己动手做。 零售商和亚马逊市场卖家可以通过以下几种方法在交付时寻求最佳表现。

客户体验

亚马逊是他们的一大堆,然后将它们出售给廉价的零售商。 它的策略是以最优惠的价格提供广泛的产品。 这并不是全部便宜的垃圾,但是亚马逊几乎无法在价格上被击败。 因此,要脱颖而出,零售商需要寻找其他方法来使自己更具吸引力–这意味着创造出色的客户体验。

亚马逊提供了一种简单的客户体验,通过让购物者轻松找到他们想要的东西来“愉悦”。 零售是不是剧院。 因此,这为零售商和亚马逊卖家都提供了竞争机会。

从交付的角度来看,亚马逊最大的优势在于,它可以在许多商品的第二天“免费”交付。 我说“免费”是因为它不是。 它在销售点是免费的,但实际上任何获得它的Prime会员都可以付费:$ 79.99或等值的英镑或欧元,具体取决于他们在哪里。

这是一个机会。 创造交付体验 如果您对双关语宽恕,那将超过亚马逊真正提供的功能。

那看起来像什么? 正如我们将看到的,它涵盖了多种因素,但最重要的是,它恰好是购物者在何时何地想要交付的。 尽管亚马逊提供“免费”的第二天送货服务,但它不提供(至今)的服务是更精确的送货服务-这就是当今全渠道客户想要的。

他们希望能够说“我希望在星期三在2和3之间交付此商品”或“我需要在后天交付但要交付给我的办公室”。 他们还希望能够即时更改它。 送货上门 多亏了大众在西班牙的试用,现在甚至有可能实现。

现在,这很难实现:成本很高–尤其是搞砸了送货司机精心设计的时间表。 但是有可能,如果您选择 管理良好的第三方交付管理流程.

关键是要与拥有多运营商战略的公司合作,以便可以轻松应对定制交付的各种问题。

履行

尽管使交付成为客户服务范式的一部分是与亚马逊竞争的关键一步,但亚马逊带给竞争者的更多内容,而竞争零售商和亚马逊市场卖家都需要考虑。

其中最主要的是,亚马逊创建了一个交付业务,其中还包括实现。 亚马逊不仅会允许您通过其网站进行销售,而且还可以在您愿意且愿意付款的情况下对您的产品进行仓储,并管理从订单到履行到交付甚至退货的整个过程。

由亚马逊(FBA)履行 是亚马逊业务中的皇冠上的明珠之一,因为它可以控制很多销售过程并从每个卖家那里赚钱。 但 这不是完美的 并且,要与之竞争(无论是作为独立卖家还是作为亚马逊卖家),您都需要拥有自己的广泛的履行服务。

为此,大多数零售商必须求助于第三方,该第三方可以像亚马逊物流一样提供所有或任何方面的信息。 履行过程,无论是仓储/存储,还是分拣和打包以及电子商务交付管理。

使用此类服务​​的最大好处是,它们使您可以扩展工作范围并提供更好的客户服务,而投资却最少。 第三方履行也将使国际扩张。

我喜欢Retro和 海军伦敦 既利用了第三方的履行能力,又增加了营业额,并跨越了国界。传统上,这是亚马逊物流最大的卖点之一。

分销

正如我们在客户服务和体验领域中提到的那样,分销是试图寻找亚马逊替代品时要考虑的另一个核心因素。

需要运输的小型零售商——并且需要在其客户服务中发挥运输作用——需要接入分销网络。 承运人或 交通管理软件 允许零售商做到这一点——并在他们这样做的同时省钱。

无论您是否需要每天发送20,500或5000或更多包裹,这种第三方软件都可以使小型零售商甚至利用已经运往所需地点的卡车在第二天运送货物。

多承运人运营所提供的灵活性还意味着,让客户即时更改交货细节的概念变得更加现实。 还没有呢 但它来了.

使用这样的策略的主要优点是,您(零售商)可以使用各种运营商,这不仅为您提供了管理复杂的和客户服务友好的分销所需要的灵活性,而且还为您节省了资金。

通过与广泛的承运人建立单一联系点,每个零售商都可以享受“批量销售”折扣率。 这也节省了时间。 对于在市场上出售的商品(例如亚马逊和许多其他商品),它也可以插入其中,并让零售商 管理自己的成就 和分发,而不必依赖亚马逊。

主动交付跟踪

从消费者的角度来看,无论是亚马逊还是零售商自己完成一项优质的送货服务,最重要的部分之一就是能够动态跟踪其包裹-亚马逊实际上向我展示了我的司机相对于我的房屋的位置以及他在到达我之前还必须停多少次。

就像亚马逊推出的所有产品一样,这种动态的包裹跟踪现在已成为标准,这是消费者对任何零售商的发货都期望的。 这也是能够为购物者提供重定向或即时停滞能力的开始。

但是,动态跟踪的功能远不止于此:表面上看起来并不那么令人兴奋的事情,但对于中小企业在线零售商而言,至关重要。 使用托管运营商网络与亚马逊竞争有许多优势:一旦包裹被扫描到系统中,则第三方将处理所有跟踪,也许更重要的是,随后可能发生的所有客户服务问题和查询。

这种 动态跟踪支持 对于零售商而言,这是无价之宝,因为这意味着客户有权获得实际上可以帮助他们的帮助:承运人管理公司能够随时查看任何包裹的位置,并在出现问题时与承运人进行交谈。

突然之间,就可以为想要了解包裹状况的客户提供真正超酷的服务,并提供了与亚马逊竞争的独特方式。

下一步和新的创新

尽管使用第三方运营商管理可以帮助提供任何零售商都想要的所有“亚马逊杀手”,但人们始终必须着眼于未来。 亚马逊不会停滞不前–零售商和运营商也负担不起。

关于无人机交付甚至机器人的讨论很多-实际上在伦敦和米尔顿凯恩斯,现在看到这些无人机已经很普遍了 六轮箱 慢慢地步履蹒跚,但这只是零售商需要意识到的下一代交付的两个明显面孔。

更有可能产生更明显影响的是看不到的东西:人工智能。 如今,人工智能推动着消费者在日常数字交易中与之互动的大多数事物。 这将彻底改变交付方式。

例如,AI将能够根据交通状况,滞留,问题交付,收件人不在场等情况,更有效地路由和更关键地在外出时重新安排交付。

AI也将第三方承运人管理提升到新的高度,从而可以对更多承运人,收集点等进行更高效,更动态的管理。 它将使交付变得智能化-这肯定是亚马逊正在努力的事情:您也应该如此。

结论

亚马逊已经缝制了在线销售市场。 它还具有实现,交付和跟踪以匹配的功能。 它将使AI承担更大的责任,以使其工作更加有效,具有成本效益和出色的客户服务。 为了竞争,所有零售商,甚至是亚马逊本身的零售商,都需要运用自己的履行策略来精打细算。

这将意味着与可以管理多个运营商的第三方公司合作,以提供灵活性以及在人工智能和所有其他下一代技术上可与之匹敌的投资。

对于零售商而言,考虑交付,履行以及更多作为其客户服务运营的一部分将至关重要,并专注于优质服务本身就是一项工作–因此,请确保将这些服务的实际运行交给专家。 然后,您可以开始真正承担起亚马逊的重任。

关于Parcelhub –定制包裹运输解决方案

Parcelhub 是定制的多运营商交付管理和主动跟踪支持解决方案。 灵活且可扩展的独特服务组合与市场,电子商务平台和订单管理系统无缝集成,为数百个多渠道零售商,全球品牌和批发商提供了一个通向20 +运营商和600 +交付选项的接入点。

每年,Parcelhub均通过自己的承运人合同分发超过6万个包裹,Parcelhub的免费多承运人运输软件使数百家国内和全球企业可以从其精心挑选的一系列承运人合作伙伴(包括Yodel,Hermes, ,DPD,DHL,UPS,DX,Parcelforce,CollectPlus,SkyNet,ArrowXL,Interpost,Panther Logistics,Direct Link和Palletforce。 专用的主动包裹管理是标准配置。

在脸书上分享
Twitter
LinkedIn

了解成为顶级1%卖家所需的条件

Mike

Mike

更多文章

希望在亚马逊上推出、发展或盈利?

立即与我们的团队成员交谈,了解我们如何为您提供帮助!

更多文章

了解成为顶级1%卖家所需的条件

en English
X

AMZ Blog

The best source for information on how to maximize your presence on Amazon and beyond

multichannel-retailers.jpg

How multichannel retailers can compete with Amazon on delivery

By Paul Skeldon, Contributing Editor at Parcelhub

For many shoppers, myself included, Amazon has it all. It is easy to use, I can find pretty much everything I want on it, I get it delivered next day – if what I want is on Prime – and returns are easy. Why would I go anywhere else?

Flip this around, however, and what it means is that for all other retailers trying to get me to buy from them they have the unenviable task of trying to ape what Amazon does. Or, to put it another way, to out-Amazon Amazon when it comes to experience from search to delivery.

This is a tall order, but competing with Amazon on everything from next day delivery to customer service – not to mention on price – is the only way that any other retailer is going to survive in the ecommerce era.

So how can etailers – even those that sell via Amazon – compete with the complete Amazon package?

Well, the secret lies in breaking down what it is that Amazon does so well and try to either do it better, or put your own spin on it. Here are some ways in which retailers and Amazon marketplace sellers can look to best the behemoth when it comes to delivery.

Customer experience

Amazon is a pile them high and sell them cheap(ish) retailer. Its schtick is to offer an enormous range at the best possible price. It isn’t all cheap rubbish, but Amazon can rarely be beaten on price. So, to stand out, retailers need to look at other ways to make themselves attractive – and that means creating a great customer experience.

Amazon offers a simple customer experience that ‘delights’ by letting the shopper easily find what they want; retail-as-theatre it is not. And so here lies a competitive opportunity for etailers and Amazon sellers alike.

From a delivery point of view, Amazon’s biggest plus is that it offers ‘free’ next day delivery on many goods. I say ‘free’ because largely it isn’t. It is free at the point of sale, but actually any Prime members that get it pay for it: $79.99 or the Sterling or Euro equivalent depending on where they are.

Here lies an opportunity. Creating a delivery experience that surpasses that of Amazon could really deliver, if you pardon the pun.

So what does that look like? As we shall see, it covers a multitude of factors, but up front it is about delivery precisely when and where the shoppers want it. While Amazon offers ‘free’ next day delivery, what it doesn’t offer (yet) is more precise delivery – and this is what today’s omnichannel customers want.

They want to be able to say “I want this delivered between 2 and 3 on Wednesday” or “I need this delivered the day after tomorrow, but to my office”. They also want the ability to change that on the fly. Deliveries to your car are even now possible, thanks to a Volkswagen trial in Spain.

Now, this is hard to make a reality: it is costly – not least in messing about with delivery driver’s carefully constructed schedules. But it is possible, if you opt for a well-managed third-party delivery management process.

The key is to work with a company that has a multi-carrier strategy in place, so that the vagaries of bespoke delivery can be catered to easily.

Fulfilment

While making delivery part of the customer service paradigm is a key step towards competing with Amazon, there is much more that Amazon brings to the party that competing retailers and Amazon marketplace sellers both need to think about.

Chief among these is that Amazon has created a delivery business that also encompasses fulfilment. Amazon will not only let you sell through its site, but it will also, if you want and are willing to pay, warehouse your product and manage the whole process from orders to fulfilment to delivery and even returns.

Fulfilled by Amazon (FBA) is one of the crown jewels in Amazon’s business as it allows it to control such a lot of the selling process and make more money from each seller. But it isn’t perfect and, to compete with this – both as an independent or as an Amazon seller – you need to have your own extensive fulfilment service in place.

To do this, most etailers have to turn to third parties, which can, like FBA, offer all or any aspects of the fulfilment process, be it warehousing/storage right through to pick and pack and eCommerce delivery management.

What is great about using services such as these is that they allow you to expand what you do and offer a better customer service, but with minimal investment. Third-party fulfilment will also enable international expansion.

Brands such as I Love Retro and Navy London have both leveraged this third party fulfilment to increase turn over and to expand across borders – something that traditionally has been one of FBA’s biggest selling points.

Distribution

As we have touched on in the customer service and experience arena, distribution is another core factor to take on when trying to find alternatives to Amazon.

Smaller retailers that need shipping – and needing to make the shipping component of their customer service play – need to plug into a distribution network. Carrier management software allows retailers to do just that – and to save money while they do it.

Whether you need to send 20, 500 or 5000 or more packages a day, this kind of third-party software allows even small retailers to piggyback next day deliveries in trucks that are already going where they need them to be.

The flexibility offered by multi-carrier operations also means that the concept of letting customers change delivery details on the fly becomes more of a reality. It isn’t there quite yet, but it’s coming.

The main advantage of using a strategy like this is that you, the retailer, gain access to a huge range of carriers that not only gives you the flexibility that you need to manage complex – and customer service friendly distribution – but it also saves you money.

By accessing a single point of contact to a wide array of carriers, each retailer access to ‘pooled volume’ discount rates. It also saves time. And for those of you selling on marketplaces – Amazon and many others – it also plugs into that too and lets the retailer manage their own fulfilment and distribution without having to rely on Amazon.

Proactive delivery tracking

From a consumer point of view, one of the greatest parts of a good delivery service, whether Amazon or the retailer doing it themselves, is being able to track their package dynamically – with Amazon actually showing me where my driver is in relation to my house and how many more stops he has to make before he gets to me.

This dynamic package tracking is now, like everything Amazon introduces, standard and it is what consumers expect from any retailer’s shipping. It is also the beginning of being able to offer shoppers the ability to redirect or stall on the fly.

But there is more to dynamic tracking than this: things that on the face of it aren’t as exciting, but which to an SME online retailer are vital. Using a managed carrier network to compete with Amazon offers a number of advantages: once the parcel is scanned into the system then the third-party will handle all the tracking and, perhaps more importantly, all the customer service issues and queries that then may arise.

This kind of dynamic tracking support is invaluable to retailers as it means that the customer has access to help that can actually help them: the carrier management company being able to see where any parcel is at any point and to talk to the carrier if there are issues or problems.

This suddenly offers the ability to offer a really cool service to customers who want to know what is happening to their parcels and offers a distinct way to compete with Amazon.

Next steps and new innovations

While using third-party carrier management can help deliver all the ‘Amazon killers’ that any etailer could want, one always has to have an eye on the future. Amazon won’t stand still – and neither can retailers and carriers afford to either.

There is much talk of drone deliveries and even robots – in fact in London and Milton Keynes it is now not unusual to see these six wheeled boxes slowly trundling along, but these are just the two obvious faces of next generation delivery that retailers need to be aware of.

More likely to have a more telling impact is something that can’t be seen: AI. Artificial intelligence now drives most things that consumers interact with in their digital day to day doings. And it is going to revolutionise delivery.

AI will, for example, be able to much more efficiently route and, more crucially, re-route deliveries while they are out and about based on traffic, hold ups, problem deliveries, recipient not present and so on.

AI will also take third party carrier management to new heights too, allowing even more efficient and dynamic management of even more carriers, collection points and more. It will make delivery intelligent – and that is something Amazon is definitely working on: and so should you be.

Conclusions

Amazon has the online selling market sewn up. It also has fulfilment, delivery and tracking to match. It is going to bring AI to bear to make what it does even more effective, cost efficient and great customer service. To compete, all retailers – even those on Amazon itself – need to box-clever with their own fulfilment strategy.

And that is going to mean working with third party companies that can manage multiple carriers to offer the flexibility, competitiveness and investment in AI and all other next generation technologies to match.

For retailers, thinking about delivery, fulfilment and more as part of their customer services operations will be vital and focusing on what great services means is a job in itself – so make sure that actual running of these services on the ground is handed to an expert. Then you can start to really take on the Amazon juggernaut.

About Parcelhub – the bespoke parcel shipping solution

Parcelhub is a bespoke multi-carrier delivery management and proactive tracking support solution. Flexible and scalable, its unique portfolio of services integrates seamlessly with marketplaces, eCommerce platforms and order management systems, providing hundreds of multi-channel retailers, global brands and wholesalers with one access point to 20+ carriers and 600+ delivery options.

Distributing more than 6 million parcels on its own carrier contracts every year, Parcelhub’s free multi-carrier shipping software grants hundreds of national and global businesses access to ‘pooled volume’​ discounted rates from its carefully selected range of carrier partners, including Yodel, Hermes, DPD, DHL, UPS, DX, Parcelforce, CollectPlus, SkyNet, ArrowXL, Interpost, Panther Logistics, Direct Link and Palletforce. Dedicated proactive parcel management comes as standard.

MikeHow multichannel retailers can compete with Amazon on delivery
Share this post

Are your Amazon sales lagging behind?

All you need to do is either put a link to a product or a storefront below and one of our experts will begin analyzing immediately and build a gameplan to get your sales performing at exponentially greater levels.