亚马逊供应链如何运作

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
每周获取最新的亚马逊内容
亚马逊供应链

亚马逊供应链是零售物流领域的一项惊人成就。 Bezos机器正在不断优化链条中的每个环节,以兑现他们对客户满意的承诺,并实现成为美国及其他地区首选零售商的目标。

这个目标实际上也是亚马逊供应链持续发展的主要推动力。 由于这家零售业巨头已经对增长做出了回应,因此它从未失败地投资于服务扩展以支持这种增长并推动增长。
亚马逊供应链是零售物流领域的一项惊人成就。 Bezos机器正在不断优化链条中的每个环节,以兑现他们对客户满意的承诺,并实现成为美国及其他地区首选零售商的目标。

这个目标实际上也是亚马逊供应链持续发展的主要推动力。 由于这家零售业巨头已经对增长做出了回应,因此它从未失败地投资于服务扩展以支持这种增长并推动增长。

这种怪兽策略的工作方式如下:结合了仓储网络,多层库存管理和最高运输,所有这些均受最新技术以及智能制造和定价策略的支持。

亚马逊供应链等级1:仓储

位置

作为亚马逊供应链的第一层,多层库存系统依赖于聚集在布局合理的配送中心中的库存。 存货大多位于大都市区和其他人口中心附近,计算得出的存货分布在其中,以确保供应总能满足需求。 为了填补这些枢纽之间的空白,还建立了较小的仓库,以确保无论购买什么物品,都能快速交付订单。

在撰写本文时,亚马逊拥有一个由 493全球仓库 站在大约180平方百万英尺。 这完全符合公司适用于库存的推销营销策略。 亚马逊可以在他们的仓库中促销商品越多,他们就能卖出更多,因此他们需要一个广泛的网络才能更快地将这些商品提供给客户。

这种专业的仓储策略将分销控制权交到了亚马逊手中,这样他们就可以以更少的费用更快地向世界各地的客户下订单。

组织

效率是关键,而亚马逊的仓库经过优化以使操作尽可能快速可靠。 每个仓库都有五个独特的存储区域,使工作人员和分拣包装机器人几乎可以立即定位和移动产品。

亚马逊还计算地分配了不同类型的库存,以保持效率。 例如,它自己的仓库中存放着经常购买的物品,交货期较短,可以更好地为客户服务。 另一方面,不太受欢迎的产品的存储和分发是外包的。 亚马逊还将产品存储的外包成本超过了边际销售回报。

立即获取AMZ顾问高级销售指南

亚马逊供应链等级2:交付

分销

亚马逊供应链中的第二层是基于拉式营销策略。 亚马逊一直在努力建立最高的客户忠诚度,而及时交付是其中的主要组成部分。

除了自己的仓库外,亚马逊还拥有一个由合作伙伴分配中心和批发商组成的网络。 这样,每当无法从自己的配送中心履行订单时,Amazon便可以轻松地依靠它们来提供所需的产品。

履行

亚马逊增加了自己的销售量,聚集了由第三方卖方,发行商,卖方和制造商组成的庞大细分市场。 亚马逊以其卓越的供应链系统吸引了他们,因为它为客户订单提供了可靠,价格合理的全方位服务,从而确保了他们的业务。

附加选项

所有可用的交付选项都是可用来进一步增强亚马逊供应链的独特组件。 一切都源于客户有能力选择更快的交货时间。

亚马逊已经测试并应用了多种交付方式,旨在使产品更快地到达客户家门口。 这包括公司的合作运营商, 送货服务合作伙伴计划,自行车运送和无人机。 该系统通过考虑最快的选项并将选项扩展到传统交付服务未涵盖的区域来优化交付。

案例:全食

亚马逊供应链

当亚马逊于2017年XNUMX月收购Whole Foods时,不仅仅是最终能够扩展到杂货领域。 这是一项战术举措,亚马逊的一切举措也是如此。

亚马逊供应链专业知识正是Whole Foods变得极为有利的条件。 杂货店连锁店最大的问题之一就是现场库存过多。 他们希望手头上有客户可能想要的所有东西,但这只会减慢一切。

亚马逊在Whole Foods实施了即时库存管理系统,使整个过程更加精简。 而且,它释放了很多物理空间。 随着亚马逊建立一个利润更高的送货网络,这至少可以部分满足对远期仓库的需求。

亚马逊供应链秘密#1:技术

亚马逊一直采用技术来提高其效率。 该公司从未回避投资任何自动化技术,以使其供应链更好,更快地工作,并从长远来看降低成本。

库存

.

亚马逊采用自动化和机器人解决方案进行库存存储以及分拣和打包操作。 他们完全相信这一策略,以至于他们以2012百万美元的价格收购了775 Kiva Robots,从而建立了Amazon Robotics。 亚马逊现在在世界各地的不同设施中使用估计的100,000机器人。 生产率的提高使投资变得物有所值。

自动化庞大的网络是明智之举,尤其是因为越来越难找到仓库工人。 电子商务推动了需求的增长,但是愿意从事此类工作的人越来越少。 这也意味着工资上涨迫在眉睫。

通过尽早投资于机器人技术以实现仓库运营自动化,亚马逊一直处于领先地位,并领先于成本上升。

物流配送

尽管此举引起了不小的关注,并获得了比其他窃贼更多的收益,但亚马逊一直在推动使用无人机来交付包裹。 此Amazon Prime Air计划旨在在选定的人口中心启用30分钟的交付。

亚马逊供应链

中继

Relay是旨在简化Amazon仓库交货的Amazon货运应用程序。 驾驶员输入他们的货物信息,从而获得一个简单的QR码,从而使他们更快地通过亚马逊的大门。 通过让他们了解在任何给定时间所有交付地点,亚马逊还可以帮助他们简化流程。

该领域的优化还通过以公司可以在计算中使用的方便格式提供附加数据来帮助较大的仓储和交付系统。

中继尚未广泛使用,但可能只是迈向更大一步的一步 货运配套服务 进一步优化库存移动。

Dash 达世币

Dash Button是在收购Whole Food之前在市场上推出的,但与零售巨头使用技术的计划及其先进的供应链系统非常匹配,以赢得沃尔玛的市场份额。

这款小型无线设备使Amazon客户只需单击一个按钮,即可通过Wi-Fi重新订购预选商品。 愿景是使在亚马逊上购物更加便捷,吸引更多的顾客和销售量。 单个Dash设备链接到特定品牌,价格为4.99美元。 但是,在客户首次使用Dash购买商品后,他们将获得$ 4.99的即时信用额,例如设备退款。

亚马逊供应链秘密#2:制造

亚马逊供应链

亚马逊起初是书籍销售商和狂热读者之间的过渡。 但是,它很快开始销售自己的产品,现在拥有许多自己的品牌。 市场上仍然欢迎第三方卖家,但是亚马逊一直在缓慢地(有意或无意)将许多卖家赶出市场。

亚马逊一直在制造和贴上市场上许多受欢迎的产品标签,为客户提供更便宜的选择,同时增加他们自己的利润。 这样可以将所有内容保留在内部,从而完成产品生命周期。 他们从采购到最终客户交付都具有可见性。 没有更好的方法来降低成本和提高利润。

亚马逊供应链秘密#3:定价

亚马逊已经有效地分析了其客户群,并基于智能的价格差异化策略对其进行了细分。 他们通过以相应的价格提供不同的交付选项来吸引不同的细分市场。 通过对主要和非主要成员进行进一步分类,他们可以收集更多数据以进一步提高其履行敏捷性。 亚马逊必须保持自己的能力来应对需求的动态波动,而这种细分有助于他们平衡较宽和较窄的运输窗口,使一切顺畅进行。

保持精益是亚马逊供应链战略的重要组成部分。 该公司了解到,过多的库存会增加存储成本并减慢交货速度。 为了更好地控制将多少库存发送到履行中心,亚马逊会收取更高的长期仓储费。 这鼓励卖家发送足够的库存以满足需求,并帮助亚马逊降低成本。

亚马逊供应链的下一步是什么?

亚马逊供应链

尽管已计划建立第二个总部,但该公司从未将重点从供应链管理转移到其他地方。 最重要的是,这已将亚马逊提升到世界一流水平,成为可持续竞争优势的主要来源。

亚马逊可能只是当今世界上最具创新和最优化的供应链。 那是因为他们永不停止实施改进,并在此过程中不花任何费用。

那么,亚马逊接下来要做什么呢?

内部机队

亚马逊试图针对其最后一英里交付问题实施几种不同的解决方案。 最近是该公司建立自己的计划 运送车队。 目的是消除因合作伙伴运营商表现不佳而造成的年复一年的麻烦。 这是一个大问题,因为这些交付代理是客户看到的唯一面孔。 交付问题正在损害亚马逊的声誉。

亚马逊不仅需要较小的区域快递公司,独立的送货车队和自己的私人送货卡车的帮助,而且 破土动工 从今天起一周为他们的航空货运枢纽。 辛辛那提/北肯塔基机场枢纽将占地2百万平方英尺。

亚马逊最近还通过海关更多地参与了处理和清算来自中国零售商的货件。 它使他们可以更好地控制进货库存并降低外包成本。

我们也可能很快将亚马逊作为快递公司列表中的另一个名字,在线市场之外的零售商可以选择交付客户订单。

在脸书上分享
Twitter
LinkedIn

了解成为顶级1%卖家所需的条件

朱莉娅·瓦尔德兹(Julia Valdez)

朱莉娅·瓦尔德兹(Julia Valdez)

朱莉娅(Julia)是一位专业老师,并且是纸上和舞台上文字艺术的长期爱好者。 她具有创业精神,大部分时间都花在市场营销和管理,自由撰稿,志愿者工作以及分享一些疯狂的小事上的笑声上。

更多文章

希望在亚马逊上推出、发展或盈利?

立即与我们的团队成员交谈,了解我们如何为您提供帮助!

更多文章

了解成为顶级1%卖家所需的条件

en English
X

AMZ Blog

The best source for information on how to maximize your presence on Amazon and beyond

mark-516277_1920.jpg

How the Amazon Supply Chain Works


The Amazon supply chain is an astounding achievement in retail logistics. The Bezos machine is continually optimizing every link in the chain to make good on their promise of customer satisfaction – and their goal of becoming the preferred retailer in America and beyond.

This goal is actually also a key driving force behind the continual development of the Amazon supply chain. As the retail giant has responded to growth, it has never failed to invest in service expansion to both support this growth and fuel more.

Here’s how this monster strategy works, combining a warehousing network, multi-tier inventory management and supreme transportation all supported by the latest technologies along with smart manufacturing and pricing strategies.

Amazon Supply Chain Tier 1: Warehousing

Location

As the first tier of the Amazon supply chain, the multi-tier inventory system rests on aggregating stock in well-placed distribution centers. Located mostly near large metropolitan areas and other population centers, inventory is calculatedly spread among them to ensure that supply can always meet demand. To fill in the gaps between these hubs, smaller warehouses are also erected to make sure that orders are delivered fast, regardless of the item purchased.

As of this writing, Amazon has a network of 493 warehouses worldwide standing on approximately 180 square million feet. This is all in line with the push marketing strategy that the company applies to held inventory. The more Amazon can promote items in their warehouses, the more they can sell, and so they need a wide network to get these items to customers faster.

This expert warehousing strategy puts distribution control in Amazon’s hands so they can get orders to customers anywhere in the world faster with less expense.

Organization

Efficiency is key, and Amazon’s warehouses are optimized to make operations as fast and reliable as possible. Every warehouse has five unique storage areas that enable workers and pick-and-pack robots to locate and move products almost instantly.

Amazon also calculatedly distributes different types of inventory to remain efficient. Its own warehouses hold frequently purchased items with shorter delivery windows to better serve customers, for instance. The storage and distribution of less popular products, on the other hand, is outsourced. Amazon also outsources the storage of products with storage costs that exceed marginal returns on sales.

Amazon Supply Chain Tier 2: Delivery

Distribution

This second tier in the Amazon supply chain is founded on the pull marketing strategy. Amazon has worked hard to build supreme customer loyalty, of which timely delivery is a major component.

In addition to its own warehouses, Amazon maintains a network of partner distribution centers and wholesalers. This way, whenever an order cannot be fulfilled from its own distribution centers, Amazon can easily depend on them to supply the required products.

Fulfillment

Adding to its own sales, Amazon has amassed a large segment composed of third party sellers, publishers, vendors, and manufacturers. Amazon attracts them with its superior supply chain system, securing their business as it provides reliable, reasonably priced full-service fulfillment for customer orders.

Options

One unique component that works to further strengthen the Amazon supply chain is all the available delivery options. It all stems from customers having the ability to choose faster delivery times.

Amazon has tested and applied several delivery methods all in the effort to get products to customers’ doorsteps faster. This includes the company’s partnered carriers, the Delivery Service Partners Program, bike delivery, and drones. This system optimizes delivery by taking into account the fastest option as well as extending options to areas not covered by traditional delivery services.

Case in Point:  Whole Foods

Amazon supply chain

When Amazon acquired Whole Foods in June of 2017, it wasn’t just about finally being able to expand into the grocery sphere. It was a tactical move, as is everything with Amazon.

Amazon supply chain expertise is just what Whole Foods needed to become exceedingly more profitable. One of the grocery chain’s biggest problems was holding too much inventory onsite. They wanted to have everything a customer would possibly ask for on hand, but it just slowed everything down.

Amazon implemented the Just-In-Time inventory management system at Whole Foods, making the whole process leaner. Moreover, it has freed up a lot of physical space. This could at least partially fill the need for forward warehouses as Amazon builds out a more profitable home delivery network.

Amazon Supply Chain Secret #1: Technology

Amazon has always embraced technology to make everything it does more efficient. The company has never shied away from investing in any automation that would make its supply chain work better and faster, and cut down on costs over the long term.

Inventory

.

Amazon employs automation and robotic solutions for inventory storage and pick and pack operations. They believe so fully in this strategy that they established Amazon Robotics out of their 2012 Kiva Robots $775 million acquisition. Amazon now uses an estimated 100,000 robots in different facilities around the world. The increased productivity enjoyed has made the investment more than worthwhile.

Automating this huge network is a smart move particularly because it is getting increasingly difficult to find warehouse workers. Ecommerce has pushed the demand up, but fewer people are willing to take such jobs. This also means that a wage increase is imminent.

By investing in robotics early on to automate warehouse operations, Amazon has stayed ahead of the game, and ahead of rising costs.

Delivery

Though the move has raised more than a few eyebrows and earned more than its share of sniggers, Amazon has been pushing for the use of drones to deliver packages. This Amazon Prime Air program aims to enable 30-minute deliveries in selected population hubs.

Amazon supply chain

Relay

Relay is the Amazon trucking app that was designed to streamline Amazon warehouse deliveries. Drivers enter their cargo information so get a simple QR code that gets them through Amazon’s gates faster. It also helps Amazon streamline by giving them an idea of where all their deliveries are at any given time so they can be perfectly prepared.

Optimization in this area also helps the larger warehousing and delivery systems by providing additional data in a convenient format that the company can use in their calculations.

Relay is not yet very widely used, but may just be one step in a larger move towards a freight matching service to further optimize inventory movements.

Dash

The Dash Button was introduced on the market before the Whole Food acquisition, but fits in very nicely with the retail giant’s plans to use technology and it’s sophisticated supply chain system to win market share from Walmart.

This small wireless device allows Amazon customers to reorder pre-selected items over Wi-Fi at the click of a button. The vision is to make shopping on Amazon even more convenient, pulling in more customers and sales. A single Dash device is linked to a specific brand, and costs $4.99. After a customer purchases using Dash for the first time, however, they get a $4.99 instant credit, like a refund for the device.

Amazon Supply Chain Secret #2: Manufacturing

Amazon supply chain

Amazon began as a go-between for book sellers and avid readers. It soon started selling its own products, however, and now owns many of its own brands. Third-party sellers are still welcome on the marketplace, but Amazon has been slowly squeezing many sellers out (intentionally or not).

Amazon has been manufacturing and white-labeling many of the more popular products on the marketplace, providing cheaper options to customers while increasing their own profits. This keeps everything in-house, completing the product lifecycle. They get visibility from procurement to end customer delivery. There’s no better way to keep costs down and profits high.

Amazon Supply Chain Secret #3: Pricing

Amazon has efficiently analyzed its customer base and segmented it based on a smart price differentiation strategy. They appeal to different segments by offering different delivery options for a corresponding price. By further categorizing Prime and non-Prime members, they can gather more data to further increase their fulfilment agility. Amazon must maintain their ability to respond to dynamic fluctuations in demand, and this segmentations helps them balance out wider and narrower shipping windows, keeping everything flowing smoothly.

Remaining lean is an essential part of the Amazon supply chain strategy. The company understand that too much inventory raises storage costs and slows fulfillment down. To better control how much stock is sent to fulfillment centers, Amazon charges higher long-term storage fees. This encourages sellers to send in just enough inventory to meet demand and helps Amazon keep costs down.

What’s Next for the Amazon Supply Chain?

Amazon supply chain

Despite big plans to build a second headquarters, the company has never shifted focus from supply chain management. This above anything else has raised Amazon to world class levels as a major source of sustainable competitive advantage.

Amazon may just have the most innovative and best-optimized supply chain in the world today. And that’s because they never stop implementing improvements, sparing no expense in the process.

So what’s next for Amazon?

In-House Fleet

Amazon has tried to implement several different solutions to its last-mile delivery problem. The most recent is the company’s plan to build out its own delivery fleet. The goal is to eliminate the hassles that they have experienced year after year dealing with inadequate performance from partnered carriers. It’s a big problem, because these delivery agents are the only faces the customers see. Delivery issues are damaging Amazon’s reputation.

Needing more than help from smaller regional couriers, independent delivery fleets and their own private delivery trucks, Amazon is breaking ground for their air cargo hub a week from today. The Cincinnati / Northern Kentucky Airport hub will be a 2-million-square-foot facility.

Amazon has also recently been getting more involved in handling and clearing shipments from Chinese retailers though Customs. It gives them more control over incoming inventory and reduces its outsourcing costs.

We may also soon see Amazon as another name on the list of couriers that retailers outside of the online marketplace can choose to deliver customer orders.

Julia ValdezHow the Amazon Supply Chain Works
Share this post

Are your Amazon sales lagging behind?

All you need to do is either put a link to a product or a storefront below and one of our experts will begin analyzing immediately and build a gameplan to get your sales performing at exponentially greater levels.